What Is The Permian Basin?

The Permian Basin is located in western Texas and southeastern New Mexico. It is 250 miles wide and 300 miles long, and covers several Texas counties, including:

  • Andrews County
  • Borden County
  • Cochran County
  • Coke County
  • Crane County
  • Crosby County
  • Dawson County
  • Dickens County
  • Ector County
  • Gaines County
  • Garza County
  • Glasscock County
  • Hale County
  • Hockley County
  • Howard County
  • Irion County
  • Jeff Davis County
  • Kent County
  • Kimble County
  • Lamb County
  • Loving County
  • Lubbock County
  • Lynn County
  • Martin County
  • Midland County
  • Mitchell County
  • Nolan County
  • Pecos County
  • Reagan County
  • Reeves County
  • Scurry County
  • Sterling County
  • Terrell County
  • Terry County
  • Tom Green County
  • Upton County
  • Ward County
  • Winkler County
  • Yoakam County.

The first commercial well in the Permian Basin was drilled in 1921, in Mitchell County. Permian Basin production continued on and off thereafter. Production fell of dramatically during the 1980s due to an oil glut and ensuing crash in oil prices. Beginning in the 2000s, however, increased prices and improved drilling techniques led to a new boom in the Permian Basin. As of 2014, there were more than 80,000 producing wells in the Permian Basin.

Oil produced per year from 2005-2012 in the Permian Basin is as follows:

2005           253 million barrels
2006           252 million barrels
2007           251 million barrels
2008           260 million barrels
2009           260 million barrels
2010           270 million barrels
2011           295 million barrels

If you or a loved one has been seriously injured in a Permian Basin oilfield accident, Morrow & Sheppard can help. Contact us for a free, confidential consultation to discuss your legal rights before they are jeopardized by a corporation, employer, or insurance company.

Contact Us for a Free Confidential Consultation Today!

Common Questions